I read a great deal of SF/F (surprise) and just finished a novella called “Binti” by Nnedi Okorafor. The book was a Christmas gift from a friend. It was quite good with a very different protagonist from Namibia. This little story had a sense of wonder that was very reminiscent of older works in the genre. I liked the organic tech and the use of mathematics. Also, the alien Meduse were well thought through. If you like SF this would be something I’d recommend. A nice, uplifting story, with a few scares but a really interesting ending.

I note that Tor is publishing a new novella imprint (new to me anyway). I may look into more of these. Also, I’m told by a friend that Okorafor has a sequel to this story coming out soon. I will pick it up!

Leave a Reply

